Arrogant by Jenika Snow: Review

Divider

Posted November 4, 2016 in review Tags: ,

Arrogant by Jenika Snow: ReviewArrogant by Jenika Snow
Pages: 98
five-flames

Series: A Real Man #6
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Source: ARC
Also by this author: Say You're Mine, Protecting Lily
Goodreads

Even a bad boy can wear a suit and tie... NOAH All it took was one look at Harley to know I wanted her. It wasn't about the deliberate sexual dry spell I was going through either ... the one I voluntarily participated in. No, there was something about her innocence and her vulnerability that had possessiveness running through my veins. I wanted her as mine, and I'd have her. I'd show her that although I could be cruel to those who went up against me, when it came to her, I'd make the world bow down at her feet. HARLEY The position I had been offered was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, but it also came with working for a man who had the most notorious reputation in the city. Noah Wright was anything but Mr. Right, especially not with his arrogant, unforgiving, and tyrannical attitude. He was wealthy and gorgeous, but he struck fear into people with just a look. They knew who held the power when he was in the room. So did I. And I was now working for him and getting an up-close-and-personal experience with his cold, hardened, and abrasive personality ... and it turned me on. But there was something else under the frigid demeanor he showed everyone, a slice of warmth he showed only me. I knew if Noah wanted me, he could easily have me, because putting up a fight was not what I planned on doing. I wanted him, but I wouldn't be just a conquest. Warning: Love insta-everything in a book? Like over-the-top sugary goodness? Want your stories dripping with cocky and possessive alpha heroes who only want one woman? Get a fan and a cold glass of water ready, because this story will definitely heat you up.

This is my first Jenika Snow book! Arrogant was a short, steamy read that is perfect for fans of Alexa Riley! Now, this book isn’t much on substance. Its more of a meet-fight attraction-give up fighting and bang for the rest of the story. Now, they wait months before admitting to their feelings, but you, as the reader, don’t get the insight into those months. They are simply skipped to get to the banging. And characters development? Yeah, no time for that either.

I don’t necessarily think these things are bad. I didn’t go into this story looking for the next great literary novel of all time. I wanted sweet, sappy, HEA guaranteed reading. Thats exactly what I got! These types of stories are great after you finish something angsty and heavy and need a palate cleanser. Its the book equivalent of parsley! (And I mean that in a good way!)

 

[icon-tags]

Alexa Riley…then you will probably like Arrogant!

Arrogant

amazon-icon-star


 

excerpt banner

From Arrogant:

Without thinking, this instinct and possessiveness moved through me. I lifted my hand and pushed the fall of her hair away from her shoulder. She sucked in a breath at the touch, but I liked that, loved that she was reacting. I wasn’t going to sugarcoat anything, wasn’t going to try and lie about any of it. Two months had passed, and I was ready to stake my claim, make her know I wanted her.

I could tell I affected her in more than one way, but whether she’d embrace that remained to be seen.

“Mr. Wright.” She whispered my name.

“You’ll call me Noah. I need you to call me that.”

I stared at her lips. I wasn’t the type of man that gave in to anyone or anything, but for Harley I’d gladly give her my entire world.

Insta-everything was going on with me where it concerned her, and I wasn’t about to ignore this, not when it was the first real thing I’d ever felt. I wasn’t going to pretend that this was a passing, superficial experience.

This was fucking real.

I saw the emotion flash across her face, the confusion, the war. She wanted me; I knew that by the way she acted toward me and by her body language. But she was trying to keep her composure, trying to keep this wall between us. I sensed that, felt it since I was trying to do that myself.

“I don’t think this is appropriate, Mr. Wright,” she said, but I kept my hand on her cheek and stroked my thumb along her jawline.

“Appropriate? Maybe not. But it feels pretty fucking right, Harley. It feels really damn good to me.”

“You’re my boss.” She tried to sound adamant, but I could hear the longing in her voice.

I didn’t stop touching her jawline. I wanted to touch more of her … all of her. She slipped her tongue out and ran it along the swell of her bottom lip. And I lost all semblance of the self-control I’d been holding on to. I lowered my head, moved slightly toward her, and knew if I allowed myself to kiss her, I wouldn’t be able to stop.

But I paused with our mouths only inches apart. “Tell me you want this, that you want me.” I stared right in her eyes. “We don’t have to fight this.”

She breathed hard, and the sweet scent of her breath, laced with cinnamon and sugar, moved along my mouth.

“I want you, and I know you want me, Harley. I can see it when you look at me, in the way you hold yourself in my presence.”

“We shouldn’t cross this line,” she whispered.

And that’s when I did what I’d wanted to do for the last two months.

I cupped the back of her head and placed my mouth right on hers. She gasped instantly, and I used that opportunity to lick at her lips before delving inside her mouth. I felt the moment she gave in, her resistance leaving and breaking away into desire. I pulled her closer, tilted my head to deepen the kiss, and groaned at how good she tasted. She must have had hot chocolate before coming into the office, because her flavor was incredible.

Harley panted against my mouth. I needed her so fucking badly. Her hair was loose around her face, and I gripped a chunk behind her head, pulled back, and broke the kiss. I immediately went to her throat and started sucking and licking at her soft, creamy skin.

“Oh. God,” she gasped, and I instantly went back to her mouth, delving my tongue inside.

A groan left me, my control right out the fucking window. All I could picture was tossing the shit off my desk and bending her over the glass and chrome.

About Jenika Snow

Jenika Snow is a USA Today Bestselling Author that lives in the northwest with her husband and their two daughters. Before she started writing full-time she worked as a nurse.

Samantha
Please follow and like us:
Facebook
Facebook
Twitter
Visit Us
Pinterest
Instagram
RSS
Follow by Email

Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click here to get started.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.