Down Too Deep by J. Daniels

Divider

Posted October 8, 2019 in review Tags: , , ,

Down Too Deep by J. DanielsDown Too Deep by J. Daniels
Pages: 401
three-flames

Series: Dirty Deeds #4
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Source: ARC, NetGalley
Also by this author: Where I Belong
Amazon iBooks Audible
Goodreads

Fans of Christina Lauren and Colleen Hoover will love this sexy and emotional fourth book in the New York Times bestselling Dirty Deeds series.

Following the sudden death of his wife, Nathan Bell has spent nearly two years burying himself in work and neglecting his biggest responsibility: his daughter. Overcome with guilt, he wants to connect with little Marley, but he doesn’t know how to do it alone. And then Jenna Savage throws him a lifeline.

A single mom of twins, Jenna is more than capable of taking care of Nate’s adorable two-year-old, and wants to help Nathan however she can. Soon, attachments are made, forcing Jenna and her kids into new territory. And the closer everyone becomes, the more right it feels.

Falling in love forces Nathan to face his biggest fear, and when hearts, both big and little, are on the line, the only thing scarier than needing someone is losing them all.

Down Too Deep is the story of 2 single parents and their adorable children! Nathan’s wife passed away and he handed his daughter off to his parents. Now, they are demanding he step back in and take care of his child. After seeing Nathan struggle with his daughter, Marley, Jenna offers to help. She can see he is overwhelmed and about to break.

I will admit I was a little judgmental of Nathan. His wife died and that was tragic, but he abandoned his daughter with his parents for 2 years!!!!! He missed the first 2 years of her life! I just struggled with the sheer selfishness of that decision, even with his grief. Jenna is like a gift from God. She has a job that allows her to work from home in the summers so she can watch her twin 8 year olds. She offers to help Nathan with Marley because she can see how desperate he is. He doesn’t even know the simplest thing about Marley’s likes or dislikes.

Jenna, Oliver and Olivia were sheer joy! Olivia’s note taking was super cute and Oliver is the most patient 8 year old boy ever. Marley is like every toddler-always on the go, a little in love with the word no, and so cute everyone is wrapped around her finger!

The relationship between Jenna and Nathan in Down Too Deep is obviously a slower building relationship. There is attraction right away, but both of them have a lot on their plates. Nathan is working every day and still trying to learn to be a parent and a widower. Jenna’s ex is not in the picture and she is wary of love. Nate seems very smitten with Jenna, but he is still wrestling with his own demons over his wife’s death.

Down Too Deep is full of deep emotions: guilt and love top among them. The addition of the children kept the book light in parts and that balanced out some of the really painful things Nate and Jenna were dealing with.

 

Breakdown
Hero
Heroine
Chemistry
Writing/Plot
Trope
Cover
Overall:

other single parent romances like Until December by Aurora Rose Reynolds, Eagle by Janie Crouch, Ride Wild by Laura Kaye …then you will probably like Down Too Deep!

 

Down Too Deep

ibooks-icon amazon-icon-star


 

down too deep

About J. Daniels

J. Daniels is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Sweet Addiction series, the Alabama Summer series, and the upcoming Dirty Deeds series.

She would rather bake than cook, she listens to music entirely too loud, and loves writing stories her children will never read. Her husband and children are her greatest loves, with cupcakes coming in at a close second.

J grew up in Baltimore and resides in Maryland with her family.

Samantha
Please follow and like us:
Facebook
Facebook
Twitter
Visit Us
Pinterest
Instagram
RSS
Follow by Email

2 responses to “Down Too Deep by J. Daniels

  1. This is a series I’ve had my eye on and your review of this installment will make me pull the trigger. 😉 I get your frustration with Nathan. Totally. But I love it when an author can incorporate children into a story as more than a plot device and Daniels seems to have accomplished that with Down Too Deep. Wonderful review, Samantha!

    Bookworm Brandee recently posted: Blogger Wife Chat Review ~ Johnny ~ JA Huss

Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click here to get started.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.