A Pound of Flesh: Review

Divider

Posted January 18, 2016 in review Tags:

A Pound of Flesh: ReviewA Pound of Flesh by Sophie Jackson
Pages: 448
three-flames

Series: A Pound of Flesh #1
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Source: Amazon
Also in this series: Fate and Forever
Also by this author: Fate and Forever
Amazon iBooks
Goodreads

Lose your heart to your new bad boy book boyfriend. Wes Carter - sexy, edgy, behind bars, with emotional scars as permanent as the ink on his skin, just waiting to be healed by love...
Fans of Samantha Young, Jodi Ellen Malpas, Jamie McGuire, Katy Evans and Prison Break will find this powerful love story utterly addictive and unforgettable.
Their love is forbidden. But won't be denied... Can true love heal the deepest scars?
For Kat Lane, teaching inmates at a New York prison is her way of upholding the legacy of her beloved father, murdered fifteen years ago. But when new student Wes Carter walks into her classroom, she's shaken by the strength of her attraction to him. Carter is as handsome as he is dangerous, as mysterious as he is quick-witted - and he ensures people keep their distance. Yet vibrant Kat bypasses his defences and challenges him to reveal the real man behind the intimidating reputation. As their emotional barriers crumble, their inescapable but forbidden feelings cannot be ignored. But will Kat's discovery of Carter's role on the night her father died force them apart...or bind their hearts for ever?
A Pound of Flesh is a tale of loyalty, redemption and all-consuming love against the odds, introducing an irresistible bad boy hero...

from the TBR pile graphic

A Pound of Flesh
Sophie Jackson

what i think

A Pound of Flesh has been on my TBR since before it was released. It sounded really unique and interesting! I always love the stories about ex cons, so to have a story about a current convict was cool. There is also the taboo issue of student/teacher but not in the underage, creepy way. Kat and Carter are complex characters and they are well written. The plot is interesting and it moves along at a good pace most of the time. There were a few times when I felt the pace could pick up a bit. Kat and Carter’s interactions are genuine. You can really understand their developing love for each other and their struggle to stay away because the stakes are high-Carter could go back to jail and Kat could lose her job and her teaching license! Thats a REAL problem unlike the self created angst of new adult books! I was VERY concerned at the end that Carter would screw this whole thing up and there weren’t enough pages left for him to fix it!

 

  • POV: 3rd
  • Tears: No
  • Trope: Forbidden, secret identity, secret relationship
  • Triggers: none
  • Cliffhanger: no, but there is an obvious opening for continuation!
  • HEA: View Spoiler »


[icon-tags]

 

if you liked

The Con by Mia Skylar, King by TM Frazier…then you will probably like A Pound of Flesh!

where to get it

iBooks icon Amazon-icon

Other Books in the Series

a pound of flesh

iBook | Amazon                iBooks | Amazon                iBooks | Amazon

 

 

5

By day I’m a high school English teacher and by night I write stories about bad boys and the women they love.

I always loved reading. As a kid, my mum would take me to the local bookshop every week to buy a new book. I even created my own library on my bookshelf in my bedroom at the age of five! When I started school, I found that I loved writing too.

As I got older, I was never really inspired by anything to kick-start my writing. I had plenty of ideas, which I noted down, but I never actually sat down and wrote anything and always used lack of time as an excuse.

That all changed when three of my pupils dropped a copy of Twilight onto my desk at school. They begged me to read it, which I did, from cover to cover in a day. I devoured the other three books and then read them all over again. I was hooked. When I finished reading them the second time, I knew I needed more. I wanted to learn more about the characters, to see them in different situations and following different storylines. That’s when I happened upon FanFiction.net.

The talent in the fanfiction world is truly incredible, and I spent weeks falling down the ‘Twifiction’ rabbit hole, while falling more in love with the idea of writing my own. I was inspired.

I’m a hopeless romantic and a sucker for a love story, which is what I decided to write. A Pound of Flesh is the result.

Website | Facebook | Twitter

 

 

 

Samantha
Please follow and like us:
Facebook
Facebook
Twitter
Visit Us
Pinterest
Instagram
RSS
Follow by Email

Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click here to get started.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.