Wrong Alibi by Christina Dodd


Posted December 29, 2020 in review Tags:

Wrong Alibi by Christina DoddWrong Alibi by Christina Dodd
Pages: 307
two-half-flames

Series: Murder in Alaska #1
Genres: Mystery, Suspense
Setting: Alaska
Source: ARC, NetGalley
Also by this author: Virtue Falls, Obsession Falls, The Woman Who Couldn't Scream
Amazon iBooks Audible
Goodreads

From New York Times bestselling author Christina Dodd comes an all-new thriller featuring a bold and brash female protagonist, a brutal and twisty murder that will have readers turning the pages and a villain that will have them keeping the lights on at night. WRONG ALIBI is perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Karin Slaughter, and Sandra Brown.
WRONG JOBEighteen-year-old Evelyn Jones lands a job in small-town Alaska, working for a man in his isolated mountain home. But her bright hopes for the future are shattered when Donald White disappears, leaving her to face charges of theft, embezzlement—and a brutal double murder. Her protestations of innocence count for nothing. Convicted, she faces life in prison…until fate sends her on the run.
WRONG NAMEEvie's escape leaves her scarred and in hiding, isolated from her family, working under an alias at a wilderness camp. Bent on justice, intent on recovering her life, she searches for the killer who slaughters without remorse.
WRONG ALIBIAt last, the day comes. Donald White has returned. Evie emerges from hiding; the fugitive becomes the hunter. But in her mind, she hears the whisper of other forces at work. Now Evelyn must untangle the threads of evidence before she’s once again found with blood on her hands: the blood of her own family…

Wrong Alibi is a brilliantly written story of revenge for 2 characters within the story! Our main character, Petie, had a backstory that made me cry more than I wanted to admit. There are times she was just done with life, but she pulls herself together and pushes on. Honestly, I had a bit of hero worship towards her and her ability to persevere.

The mystery in the story isn’t who is the bad guy, but rather, how will Petie find, confront, and kill him. Also, will she even be able to go back to her life if she does find him? There are plenty of interesting side characters who are intriguing, both in who they are and why they behave the way they do. This made all the characters feel much more dynamic than just a plot tool. One thing I have always appreciated about Dodd’s writing is her ability to make every character, even ones that seem minor, effective.

So, I was really thinking this was going to be a grand slam of a book, but the end felt rushed. So much happened in the last 15%! I would have liked a bit more time spent on this huge conclusion to Petie’s story! Even with this minor issue, I loved Wrong Alibi. It gave me all the Virtue Falls vibes and reminded me why I think Dodd is exceptional. I will say that while there is a “romance”, I am hesitant to call this romantic suspense. Wrong Alibi is a mystery/suspense that happens to have a heroine who finds love. She doesn’t even meet him until the last 20% of the story! So, not a straight romance and I still loved it!

 

Breakdown
Heroine
Writing/Plot
Trope
Cover
Overall:

The Silent Wife by Karin Slaughter, Say No More by Karen Rose…then you will probably like Wrong Alibi!

 

Wrong Alibi

ibooks-icon amazon-icon-star

wrong alibi

About Christina Dodd

Readers become writers, and Christina Dodd has always been a reader. She reads everything, but because she loves humor, she likes romance best.

A woman wants things like world peace, a clean house, and a deep and meaningful relationship based on mutual understanding and love. A man wants things like a Craftsman router with attachments, undisputed control of the TV remote, and a red Corvette which will miraculously make his bald spot disappear. So when Christina's first daughter was born, she told her husband she was going to quit work and write a book. It was a good time to start a new career, because how much trouble could one little infant be?

Ha! It took ten years, two children and three completed manuscripts before her first novel, CANDLE IN THE WINDOW, was published. In the twenty-three years since, her novels have been translated into 25 languages, won Romance Writers of America's prestigious Golden Heart and RITA Awards and been called the year's best by Library Journal. Christina Dodd herself has been a clue in the Los Angeles Times crossword puzzle (11/18/05, # 13 Down: Romance Novelist named Christina — her mother was very impressed.) With more than 15 million of her books in print, Publishers Weekly praises her style that 'showcases Dodd's easy, addictive charm and steamy storytelling.'

Christina Dodd is married to a man with all his hair and no Corvette, but many Craftsman tools.

Samantha
Please follow and like us:
Twitter
Visit Us
Follow Me
Pinterest
Instagram
RSS
Follow by Email

3 responses to “Wrong Alibi by Christina Dodd

Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click here to get started.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.