When We Fall: Review

Divider

Posted December 12, 2015 in review Tags: , ,

When We Fall: ReviewWhen We Fall by Marquita Valentine
Pages: 202
four-flames

Series: Take the Fall #2
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Source: ARC
Also in this series: After We Fall
Also by this author: Prime Target, Love So Perfect, Hard Target, After We Fall, Hard to Fall, Royal Scandal, Royal Affair
Amazon
Goodreads

In the captivating new novel in Marquita Valentine’s Boys of the South spinoff series—perfect for readers of Abbi Glines and Katy Evans—a small-town sweetheart takes a chance on the bad boy who’s always been her hottest fantasy.
The last time Piper Ross saw her best friend’s sexy older brother, Jase Simmons, he was being taken away in handcuffs. Seven years later, two things haven’t changed: Piper is still head-over-heels in love with him . . . and Forrestville’s chief of police—Piper’s dad—still hates his guts. So when Piper sees a chance to get close to Jase, she makes her move—literally. As his new roommate, and as the office manager of his tattoo shop, Piper won’t be satisfied until Jase knows that she wants to be his.
The quintessential good girl, Piper is pure temptation for Jase. The only reason he’s always kept his distance is because she’s the last person he’d ever want to hurt. But once he realizes that Piper is ready to take the leap, everything just makes sense. Suddenly Jase feels like a new man—until nasty rumors start swirling and Piper’s heartless father stirs up even more trouble. Now Jase must convince Piper that she wasn’t wrong about him . . . because falling in love never felt so right.

When We Fall
Marquita Valentine

what i think

When We Fall was an unexpected delight. I have not read a book by Marquita Valentine so I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect going in. First, I loved the characters. Piper was, by all outward appearances your poor little rich girl. Jase was your hardened ex con. But, as we all know, appearances are rarely that simple and defining. Ms. Valentine creates really complex characters that are more than just what they appear and they are well developed. The book sucked me in right away and I stayed up way too late to finish! Even when I thought I knew what would happen, I was still really engaged. And, FYI, the climax didn’t happen the way I expected which was another delightful surprise! I don’t think I would ever get tired of reading about Piper and Jase!

Book Details:
POV: Dual
Tears: No
Trope: Poor little rich girl, Ex Con, Bad boy/Good girl
Triggers: Piper works with battered women
Cliffhanger: No
HEA: View Spoiler »

 

if you liked

Defy by Allie Juliette Mousseau (a recent favorite of mine!), SEAL of Protection series by Susan Stoker, Emphatic by Kaylee Ryan, The Cornerstone by Kate Canterbary, The Hashtag Series (another favorite of mine!)…then you will probably like When We Fall.

My reviews of Defy, Protecting Cheyenne, Emphatic, The Cornerstone, and #Selfie!

where to get it

 

 

Other Books in the Series

 

 

5

Marquita Valentine is the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author of the Holland Springs and Boys of the South series.

 

Since first taking the plunge in July of 2012 to self publish, Marquita Valentine has sold over a quarter of a million books around the world. She’s appeared on the Top 100 Bestselling Ebooks Lists on iBooks, Amazon Kindle, and Barnes&Noble. She’s been called “one of the best new voices in romance” (Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews) and her books have been accused of being “a sexy, fun, and slightly addicting contemporary read” (The Book Queen).

 

When she’s not writing sexy heroes who adore their sassy heroines, she enjoys shopping, reading, and spending time with her family and friends. Married to her high school sweetheart, Marquita lives in a seriously small town in the south with her husband, two kids, and a dog.

 

Website | Twitter Facebook | GoodReads | Pinterest | Boys of the South Pinterest Board |
Holland Springs Pinterest Board

4

 

 

 

Samantha
Please follow and like us:
Facebook
Facebook
Twitter
Visit Us
Pinterest
Instagram
RSS
Follow by Email

Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click here to get started.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.