Heated Pursuit by April Hunt: Review

Divider

Posted November 3, 2016 in review Tags: ,

Heated Pursuit by April Hunt: ReviewHeated Pursuit by April Hunt
Pages: 304
three-half-flames

Series: Alpha Security #1
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Source: ARC, NetGalley
Amazon iBooks
Goodreads

The first in an all-new romantic suspense series from debut author April Hunt, perfect for fans of Julie Ann Walker, Lora Leigh, and Rebecca Zanetti!
TROPICAL HEAT
Penny Kline didn't come to Honduras on a pleasure trip. She's here to rescue her kidnapped niece, the only family she's got left. What she didn't plan on was walking into a covert ops mission---or being wrapped up in the hard-muscled arms of Rafe Ortega. The cool-as-ice operative's touch may get her all hot and bothered, but no man can have a hold on her heart until her niece is home where she belongs.
Even in the tropics, Alpha Security operative Rafe can take down the bad guys without breaking a sweat. Hostage extractions. Clandestine missions. Those are the things he's been trained to handle. Relationships? Not so much. But one look at this strong, sexy redhead and he's seized by a fierce urge to protect her at all costs. Now Penny and Rafe will have to up their game because they're about to go into a master criminal's lair without backup, and the danger---and passion---is about to explode . . .

Heated Pursuit is the debut novel from April Hunt and I must say, its good! Penny is no damsel in distress and she is on a mission in Honduras to save her niece. Her pseudo brother Trey is there with his security team to try and capture a drug lord. They find Penny and plan to send her ass back to the USA but she won’t go without a fight. Rafe, one of the team members, is finding he quite likes Penny, even when she is being a pain in the ass.

I really liked Penny as our heroine. She is tough, yet not so tough she comes off as a total cold hearted bitch. It seems in many books I read either the heroine is totally helpless or so bad ass she is cold and difficult to relate to. Penny had a shit childhood and it makes all her actions more believable and understandable. You also get the great, snarky back and forth between Penny and Rafe that I love. I also loved the guys on the team and think this is a set up for a great series.

The action and suspense are nonstop which really made the book feel like a fast read. The relationship between Penny and Rafe is a bit enemies to lovers and while it might seem a bit rushed to some, I think it felt organic and well written. Heightened emotions from all the danger, lust, etc all in play can lead to some escalating feelings. Overall I really enjoyed Heated Pursuit and can’t wait for more!

 

[icon-tags]

Safe from Harm by Kate SeRine, The Search and Rescue series by Katie Ruggle, Dangerous Protector by Katie Reus, or anything by Susan Stoker…then you will probably like Heated Pursuit!

Heated Pursuit

ibooks-icon amazon-icon-star


 

Samantha
Please follow and like us:
Facebook
Facebook
Twitter
Visit Us
Pinterest
Instagram
RSS
Follow by Email

Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click here to get started.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.