The Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas

Divider

Posted February 19, 2019 in review Tags: , ,

The Devil’s Daughter by Lisa KleypasThe Devil's Daughter by Lisa Kleypas
Pages: 387
three-flames

Series: The Ravenels #5
Genres: Historical Romance
Source: ARC
Also in this series: Cold-Hearted Rake, Marrying Winterborne, Devil in Spring, Hello Stranger
Also by this author: Cold-Hearted Rake, Marrying Winterborne, Devil in Spring, Hello Stranger
Amazon iBooks Audible
Goodreads
Reading Challenges: 2019 Tackle My TBR Challenge

Although beautiful young widow Phoebe, Lady Clare, has never met West Ravenel, she knows one thing for certain: he’s a mean, rotten bully. Back in boarding school, he made her late husband’s life a misery, and she’ll never forgive him for it. But when Phoebe attends a family wedding, she encounters a dashing and impossibly charming stranger who sends a fire-and-ice jolt of attraction through her. And then he introduces himself...as none other than West Ravenel.

West is a man with a tarnished past. No apologies, no excuses. However, from the moment he meets Phoebe, West is consumed by irresistible desire...not to mention the bitter awareness that a woman like her is far out of his reach. What West doesn’t bargain on is that Phoebe is no straitlaced aristocratic lady. She’s the daughter of a strong-willed wallflower who long ago eloped with Sebastian, Lord St. Vincent—the most devilishly wicked rake in England.

Before long, Phoebe sets out to seduce the man who has awakened her fiery nature and shown her unimaginable pleasure. Will their overwhelming passion be enough to overcome the obstacles of the past?

Only the devil’s daughter knows…

The Devil’s Daughter finally gives us West Ravenel’s story! I have been waiting for years for this and who better to pair him with then, Phoebe, the daughter of Sebastian, Lord St. Vincent from Devil in Winter!

Kleypas can’t seem to write a historical romance I don’t love. Phoebe is a widow and West was her late husband’s tormentor. I struggle with the widow trope because it can feel like the new love is competing with a ghost. However, I felt Phoebe was more of a best friend to her late husband than in deep love with him. Maybe that is just because that’s what I wanted to see!  She has 2 children now as well, so the romance between her and West is slower in many ways. Phoebe because of her widow and parent status and West because of his demons.

West has come a long way throughout the series and I have been dying to get his story. He was quite the rake and rogue but has been totally flying straight in order to take care of his brother’s estate. He falls quickly for Phoebe, but feels he is too tarnished for her. For fans of Devil in Winter, Sebastian has lots of ‘time’ in this book. He is older and wiser and expressed his thoughts frequently. If you like checking in with previous book heroes and their lady loves, you will enjoy The Devil’s Daughter for sure.

Kleypas is truly the queen of historical romance. Her books have humor, sensuality, banter, and deep emotions. I have yet to read a book by her that I didn’t fall in love with almost instantly. Her books are on my auto buy lists and probably the ones I most recommend to others. The Devil’s Daughter does not disappoint and Kleypas fans will delight in a return to a former favorite couple.

 

  •   POV: 3rd
  •   Tears: some
  •   Trope: widow
  •   Triggers: none
  •   Series/Standalone: stand alone within an interconnected series (in this case, having read the previous books would give you a better sense of West for sure)
  •   Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
  •   HEA: View Spoiler »
Breakdown
Hero
Heroine
Chemistry
Writing/Plot
Trope
Cover
Overall:

authors like Sarah Maclean, Tessa Dare, Courtney Milan, Kerrigan Bryne…then you will probably like The Devil’s Daughter!

 

The Devil’s Daughter

ibooks-icon amazon-icon-star


“If you have any misguided thoughts about taking me into your bed, you would find it a vastly mediocre experience. I’d be on you like a crazed rabbit, and half a minute later the whole thing would be over. I used to be a proficient lover, but now I’m a burnt-out libertine whose only remaining pleasure is breakfast food. Speaking of which—”

Phoebe reached for him, brought herself up hard against him, and interrupted him with her mouth. West flinched as if scalded and held very still in the manner of a man trying to withstand torture. Undeterred, she wrapped her arms around his neck and kissed him as passionately as she could, touching her tongue to his stiff lips. The feel and taste of him was exhilarating. Suddenly he responded with a primitive grunt and his mouth clamped on hers, wringing sensation from her with demanding pressure. Forcing her lips apart, he searched her with his tongue the way she remembered, and it felt so good, she thought she might faint. A whimper rose from her throat, and he licked and bit gently at the sound and sealed their mouths together in a deep, insatiable kiss that involved his lips, breath, hands, body, soul.

Whatever it might be like to go to bed with this man . . . it would be anything but mediocre.

Head over to my instagram and enter to win a print copy of The Devil’s Daughter!

Samantha
Please follow and like us:
Facebook
Facebook
Twitter
Visit Us
Pinterest
Instagram
RSS
Follow by Email

5 responses to “The Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas

  1. I LOVE this review, just bought this at B&N today, and I am really loving it so far. I do agree that Kleypas is a QUEEN and she has been for many years. there is something so unique about her writing. No matter what I will always buy her books.

Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click here to get started.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.