Fallen Princess by Chantal Fernando

Divider

Posted April 8, 2019 in review Tags: , , , ,

Fallen Princess by Chantal FernandoFallen Princess by Chantal Fernando
Pages: 228
three-flames

Series: Wind Dragons MC #10
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Source: ARC, NetGalley
Also by this author: Breaching the Contract, Seducing the Defendant, Approaching the Bench, Ace of Hearts, Knuckle Down, Going Rogue, Saint
Amazon iBooks Audible
Goodreads

From the New York Times bestselling author who “knows how to draw you in and keep you hooked” (Angela Graham, New York Times bestselling author) comes a compelling tale of family loyalty and budding romance starring the badass Clover Black as she is forced to choose between following her heart or keeping her family safe.

Growing up as the Princess of the Wind Dragons Motorcycle Club, Clover Black knows she’s had a thoroughly unique upbringing. As the daughter of the former President of the club, she’s expected to live a certain kind of life but she does the unthinkable…she goes to the police academy and becomes a cop. Without her family knowing.

After being assigned a new partner, the handsome Felix Banks, a friendship blossoms, but as Felix teaches her how to be a better cop, she finds herself falling for him, all while, struggling to keep her two lives separate. Tensions rise when the truth comes out and it becomes clear that Clover is being used for her motorcycle club ties.

As things heat up within the MC and at Clover’s job, she faces a difficult choice—her love for Felix and the law, or her family and the Wind Dragons. A steamy and unputdownable romance, Fallen Princess is perfect “for fans of Kristin Ashley, Julie Ann Walker, and Joanna Wylde, and those who are heartbroken that television’s Sons of Anarchy has ended”

Fallen Princess is a pretty straightforward story: MC princess secretly becomes cop. This book does connect to both the Cursed Ravens MC series and her legal series (but that is just a name drop), but you don’t have to have read either to understand. Honestly, you don’t have to have read the previous books in this series to enjoy Clover’s story. Clover is the daughter of the former Wind Dragons president and has always been a stubborn, strong willed child. She wanted to be a cop but feared her parents wouldn’t approve so she moved to another city and joined the police force there.

I liked Clover as a heroine because she tough, smart, and yet still impulsive and reckless. She comes off as a believable young woman-she is trying to figure out who she wants to be and how to get there and she makes some mistakes along the way. I loved Felix for her. At first, he is kind of douchey, but he really respects her. He was great for her in her professional and personal life. They had a few communication issues which I find annoying, but honestly, it worked in the story and these issues weren’t the main plot point.

My biggest struggle with Fallen Princess is the struggle I have had with the last few Fernando books I’ve read: they seem lacking in depth. There is a lot going on in the plot and all of it seems glossed and not fully explored. I felt like any one of the plot points could have been the focus of the story instead of all of them being thrown in. You have the story of a MC girl sneaking away to be a cop, you have the subplot of the drug dealer she is trying to take down, then you have the dirty cops who want to use her, then you have the mystery of Felix’s dad’s death….its just a lot and any one of them would have made a great story. All of them together made Fallen Princess feel unfocused and, at times, rushed. It should be noted that despite that, I still devoured the story. I found myself thinking about it frequently when I was interrupted by mundane things like my job or my need for food.

 

Breakdown
Hero
Heroine
Chemistry
Writing/Plot
Trope
Cover
Overall:

other MC books by authors like Lani Lynn Vale, Kristen Ashley, Lila Rose, L. Wilder…then you will probably like Fallen Princess!

 

Fallen Princess

ibooks-icon amazon-icon-star



a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

About Chantal Fernando

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author Chantal Fernando is twenty six years old and lives in Western Australia.

Her published novels include four books in the Resisting Love series – Chase, Kade, Ryder and James; the New York Times Bestselling novel Maybe This Time and its follow up, This Time Around. Her latest releases include Toxic Girl, Saxon, and a USA bestselling biker romance novel Dragon’s Lair.

When not reading, writing or daydreaming she can be found enjoying life with her three sons and family.

Represented by Kimberly Brower from the Rebecca Friedman Literary Agency.

Samantha
Please follow and like us:

2 responses to “Fallen Princess by Chantal Fernando

Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click here to get started.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.